Chick Lit Author

My Journey To Becoming A Chick Lit Author…

Inconvenient Flashes Of Inspiration May 5, 2010

Filed under: General — Juliet Madison @ 5:43 pm

Since I started writing ‘seriously’, I’m finding it hard to relax and watch a movie, or read a book. I keep stopping periodically as I get ideas and flashes of inspiration. I’ve learned to just go with it when I get ideas, jotting down thoughts and dialogue as it comes, otherwise when I sit down to write ‘on purpose’ sometimes nothing comes of it. This is all well and good if I’m reading alone, or watching a DVD by myself (the pause button on the remote gets a workout), but not very popular for family life …”Mum! Can I press play yet?”. It can also interfere with a good night’s sleep as a 2 hour DVD can sometimes take about 3 hours when you count all the ‘Inspiration Breaks’. My so called winding down time in front of the telly has turned into a character analysis and brainstorming plotting session.

They say reading books and watching movies in your genre is good for research, but it’s also good for just plain fun, and I could do with a bit more of that right now!

 

Leave a Reply

