Chick Lit Author

My Journey To Becoming A Chick Lit Author…

Working backwards January 12, 2010

Filed under: General,Writing Process — Juliet Madison @ 10:21 am

I have never been one to follow tradition. With my writing I don’t start at the beginning, I have been writing scenes as they come to me, while also continuing to plan and outline. I visualise the characters coming to life and then create a scene in my mind like a movie. Then I write the scene, whether it occurs in the middle of the book or the end. Hopefully these random scenes will come together and make sense in the end!

I also read that it’s a good idea to self edit your book from the back to the front, so you can pick up mistakes more objectively, and not get caught up in the story. My problem is I tend to edit as I go, stopping after each paragraph to check what I’ve written. I am practicing not doing this though, it’s easier when I write with the writing prompter . It helps me get everything down, regardless of grammar or consistency. I can always go back over it later to polish it up!

 

Leave a Reply

