Chick Lit Author

My Journey To Becoming A Chick Lit Author…

Beginnings Beginnings… January 12, 2010

Filed under: General,Writing Process — Juliet Madison @ 10:27 am

Although my scenes throughout the book are coming along nicely, I am struggling a bit with how to actually start the book! I know how important it is to start with a bang so to speak, and to make sure those first three chapters hook your readers in and make them want more, but I have about three different ways to start it and none of them ring true for me yet.

I think it’s because I have three main characters. Do I start with an opening scene involving all of them? or start with one character at a time to give a glimpse into each of their lives? (They don’t know each other yet, but will all be meeting in either the first or second chapter).

The other books I have read with 3 or 4 main characters start with all of them in the one scene, but this is because they are friends or colleagues in the story.  Hmmm, will have to keep trying different scenarios and see which one would grab the reader more.

 

One Response to “Beginnings Beginnings…”

  1. DarleneLF Says:

    A quick glimpse into each character is a good way to start. A suggestion is to dedicate a paragraph or two for each character, writing in ‘their POV’. This will allow your readers to ‘get to know’ your main characters seperately/before they all meet.


Leave a Reply

